Please use the link to the right to request a certified copy of your marriage certificate online. If you talked to a clerk and need to mail in the form, please use this link.
Currently we are only accepting online and mail in certificate requests. This form can only be mailed in. Please note: payment will also need to be mailed for online requests.
Marriage License Form Help
Additional information to assist you in completing the license application form.
Ohio Inmate Marriage Licenses
Marriage License Application for Inmates Within the State of Ohio-Procedure of Commission
Marriage Laws in the State of Ohio
Ohio Bar guide on Ohio marriage laws.
Top 10 Marriage License Questions
1) Do both parties have to be present together?
Both applicants need to take the oath at the same time. Right now, this is done via a phone call.
2) Is there a waiting period?
No, there is no waiting period in Lucas County.
3) How old do you need to be in order to obtain a marriage license?
The legal age of majority in the State of Ohio is 18
4) What is your address?
Lucas County Probate Court, 700 Adams Street, Suite 200 Toledo, Ohio 43604 (419) 213-4750. However, right now we are not accepting in-person applications. Please apply online.
5) How long will it take to get our marriage license?
Approximately two weeks.
6) What can I use instead of my birth certificate?
Nothing takes the place of a birth certificate.
7) Are you open on Saturday?
No, the Court House is closed on weekends and all legal holidays.
8) Do I need to make an appointment?
Please apply online. Allow 30-day window from upcoming ceremony.
9) What do you mean by name change papers?
You need to submit any and all documents which show that you have gone through a legal name change or have had your name restored to a prior name.
(scroll further down for marriage certificate certified copies link)
1. There is no in-person public access to the marriage license department at this time. You must apply online or via mail. Please call the court if you have extenuating circumstances.
2. There are NO ministers in the building to perform ceremonies.
3. The license can not be issued more than 60 days before the ceremony.
4. Once the application is submitted there will be NO REFUNDS.
Online Marriage License Application Instructions:
(Non-residents must get married in Lucas County)
Complete the application in its entirety. Be sure to attach all required documents. ID photos should be clear and readable to verify identity. Once the application is submitted there will be NO REFUNDS.
Applications will be processed during operating court hours.
After submission, a court clerk will contact you to schedule an appointment to do an oath over the telephone. Both parties must be present or able to connect to a conference call.
After the application is processed, the license is valid immediately, and parties are able to proceed with the ceremony. A confirmation email will be mailed to the parties stating the date the license was issued and the case number, which may be used until your license arrives in the mail.
The marriage license packet, including the form that will need to be signed and returned, will be mailed to the address provided.
ONLINE CERTIFIED COPY OF MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE - CLICK HERE
Certified Copies of Marriage Certificate Instructions:
Fill out as much information as possible to assist court staff in locating the record requested.
Orders will be processed during operating court hours.
Certified copies will be mailed to the address provided. Please allow approximately three weeks to receive your copy.
Please Note: Marriage License Office hours of operation are
8:30a-4:00p, Monday thru Friday.
Our phone customer services hours are 8:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. We will be processing applications and copy requests daily between 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. The Marriage License Office is closed to the public at this time. Applications should be submitted through the links above for a license or a copy of a marriage record. The Lucas County Probate Court Marriage License Office is located at the Lucas County Court House, 700 Adams Street, Toledo, Ohio 43604. Our office is closed on all weekends and legal Holidays including the day after Thanksgiving. The cost of obtaining a marriage license is $63.54 payable by debit or credit card only.
The applicants must be both take an oath via phone in order to process the license request. The legal age for obtaining a marriage license without juvenile court consent is 18. Both applicants must submit a valid, Government Issued, picture ID. (Driver's License Or State ID card). Passports or Military ID will not be accepted. In addition, any applicant under the age of 21 must provide a certified birth certificate listing parent's names. If either applicant has been married previously, they must present a copy of the final Decree of Divorce, Dissolution or Annulment that has been signed by the Judge and filed for record with the Court. If the applicant is a widow or widower, a certified copy of the Death Certificate, listing applicant as surviving spouse, must be submitted. You must be prepared to give information on all previous marriages, however you must provide proof of how your most recent marriage ended.
Ohio law provides that residents of Ohio apply for a marriage license in the county where one of the applicants resides in order to be married in the State of Ohio. Lucas County residents will need to provide proof of residency. Out of state residents may apply in Lucas County for a marriage license however, the marriage ceremony must also take place in Lucas County. There is no waiting period in Lucas County. A marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date of issuance. An ordained or licensed minister of any religious society or congregation within this state who is licensed through the office of the Secretary of the State of Ohio, the probate judge, or a judge of a municipal court may solemnize marriages.
The cost of a marriage license is $63.54. You will not need blood tests or witnesses to be married in Ohio. A marriage license will not be issued if either applicant is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or controlled substance.
If both persons to be joined in marriage are the age of 17 years, they may be joined in marriage only if the juvenile court has filed a consent to the marriage under section 3104.04 of the Revised Code. If only one person is the age of 17 years, that person may be joined in marriage only if both of the following apply: 1. The juvenile court has filed a consent to the marriage under section 3101.04 of the Revised Code. 2. The other person to be joined in marriage is not more than four years older. Under section 3101.05 (A) of the Revised Code, if either applicant is the age of 17 years, the judge shall require the applicants to state that they have received marriage counseling satisfactory to the court. For more information, call the Marriage License Bureau at (419)213-4750.
If either party is hearing impaired and requires an interpreter, one will be provided by the Court, however you must make arrangements with the interpreter prior to obtaining your marriage license. Please call the Marriage License Office at (419)213-4750 to arrange for an interpreter for the hearing impaired.
If an applicant does not speak or understand English, they must have a translator when applying for a marriage license. The translator must be at least 18 years or age, cannot be related to either applicant and must have a valid Government issued, picture ID. In addition, translation of any foreign document must be provided. Translations must be on business letterhead from a professional translator. At the time of application we will need the original foreign document along with the translation. We suggest you contact the International Institute in Toledo, Ohio, at 419-241-9178 to assist in translations. For further information, call the Marriage License Bureau at 419-213-4750.
You can request a Certified Copy of the Marriage Record by using the link above. If you have questions, call the Marriage License Bureau at 419-213-4750.